Eparchy of St Maron Religious Education Curriculum

Pre-School: Love of Jesus
The children will learn about how Jesus loves them and why they should love Jesus using simple arts and craft projects.

Grade 1: The Holy Trinity
This grade focuses on God as Father, Son and Holy Spirit. The text begins by describing who we are as members of the Maronite Church. Woven throughout the year are stories of Maronite saints.

Grade 2: Meeting Jesus in the Mysteries
In this grade, the text introduces children to the seven Holy Mysteries and how they can find Jesus in each one. Grade 2 students will prepare for and celebrate their First Reconciliation (during the first semester) and their First Holy Communion will be celebrated on the first Sunday of May.

Grade 3: Our Church Family
The Church is the focus of Grade 3. Students will see that faith grows when we are rooted in Jesus. They will also learn what it means to say that the Church is the temple of the Holy Spirit.

Grade 4: Following Jesus
Throughout the fourth grade, students study about Christian morality. Specifically, they will study about right and wrong and the gift of conscience. The text also includes stories of Maronite saints and holy ones who can serve as role models of Christian morality.

Grade 5: The Church’s Liturgy
This year focuses on the Church’s liturgy. (Brief synopsis of the liturgy, its different parts and aspects)

Grade 6: The Bible
Holy Scripture is the focus of the sixth grade. The text begins by giving the students an overview of the Bible as the inspired Word of God. Finally, the students will study the parts of the New Testament dealing with the apostles and first Christians.

Grade 7: The Creed
This year focuses on what we believe as Maronites. The students will discover why faith is important to human happiness and explore what Maronites believe about the Trinity.

Grade 8: Our History as Church
The eighth graders will study the history of the Maronite Church. In the first unit, students will connect the Church to the Old and New Covenants. Throughout this level students will examine the history and development of the Maronite Church in the United States since the Second Vatican Council.

Christ Our Life: New Evangelization Edition, 1-8 — Loyola Press (Supplement)

The new 2016 edition of Christ Our Life fosters children’s love of God and a rich knowledge of our Catholic faith so they can proudly go out into the world and proclaim it. With a thorough presentation of the authentic teachings of the Catholic Church, a comprehensive approach, and a variety of teaching methods, Christ Our Life: New Evangelization Edition is aligned with the Church’s mission for a new evangelization, the NCEA:IFG ACRE assessments, and the Six Tasks of Catechesis.

The program features:

  • The original Christ Our Life spiral curriculum
  • Gather and Go Forth pages
  • Catholic faith content
  • Correlations to the ACRE test, the Six Tasks, and the New Evangelization
  • Parent resources

The Christ Our Life 2016 New Evangelization Edition Student Book emphasizes that our lives are centered around Jesus Christ, teaching children how to live out their faith in daily life and in communion with the church. Through Scripture, doctrine and prayer, children are guided into a deeper personal relationship with Christ.

  • Grade 1: God Is Good
  • Grade 2: God Cares for Us
  • Grade 3:We Believe
  • Grade 4: God Guides Us
  • Grade 5: We Worship
  • Grade 6: God Calls a People
  • Grade 7: Jesus the Way, the Truth, and the Life
  • Grade 8: The Church Then and Now